MILTON – Today, the Member of Provincial Parliament for Milton, Parm Gill, announced the development of two post-secondary campuses, along with a new long-term care home, and space for a hospice in Milton.

Wilfrid Laurier University and Conestoga College will each have a campus to Milton that will offer career centred and innovative education. Schlegel Villages will provide long-term care, including 192 new publicly subsided long-term care beds and a fully integrated village concept for the residents.

MPP Gill was joined by Premier of Ontario, Doug Ford, Minister of Universities and Colleges, Ross Romano, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, Steve Clark, and the Mayor for the Town of Milton, Gord Krantz. Also in attendance was the President of Conestoga College, Dr. John Tibbets, and the President and Vice-Chancellor of Wilfrid Laurier University, Dr. Deborah MacLatchy.

“Since 2008, more than a decade, we have been waiting for a new post-secondary campus in Milton; the wait is now over,” said MPP Gill. “Under our government, we are building more elementary schools in Milton, more high schools, and now, two new post-secondary schools,” MPP Gill added.

The inclusion of two post-secondary campuses at the Milton Education Village aligns with Ontario’s vision of building innovative communities across the province where education, research, business, and community services thrive and prosper.

Community services will be advanced with the inclusion of Schlegel Villages long-term care home in partnership with Conestoga College by offering their ‘Excellence in Resident-Centred Care’ program.

“Our government remains committed to transforming long-term care access in Ontario,” said MPP Gill. “So far we have announced 608 new long term care beds in Milton, giving families more access for their loved ones who need long-term care.”

This work can begin immediately thanks to the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, for issuing a Ministerial Zoning order, which came at the request from, and had unanimous support of Milton Town Council.